Dumpling Obsession

31 May

There are several foods that I just can’t live without. One if them being Guacamole, which you probably know by now since I mention it in every other post!
But now I’m adding a new entry to my list: dumplings.

dumpling collage
I still haven’t figured out what makes them so irresistible to my taste buds. I guess it’s the combination of different flavors without ever being overwhelming.

This obsession of mine took me to a restaurant in Shanghai that everyone praised for having the best dumplings in the city: Din Tai Fung.

dumplings in shanghai
Din Tai Fung is a Chinese/Taiwanese restaurant chain with several restaurants around the world, including the US and Australia. According to their website “The New York Times selected Din Tai Fung as one of the top ten restaurants in the world

They have several locations in Shanghai, but I visited the one in Xintiandi.

spicy dumplings

Although I’m no expert, I can humbly say that these dumplings really live up to their hype. They are light and full of flavor, never overwhelming. It’s like a subtle explosion of flavors.

shrimp dumpling

4 Responses to “Dumpling Obsession”

  1. JulietS May 31, 2013 at 6:17 am #

    I’m sooo glad to find someone sharing my obsessions – I’m totally going to call my new blog Miss Little Dumpling if I’m gonna set up my 2nd one!! Not sure if you’ve tried but the veggie dumplings with shitake mushrooms and tofu are of my many favorites too! Happy dumplings day x Juliet

    • sillystyle May 31, 2013 at 6:25 am #

      I have and they are absolutely delicious! I’m glad we share this same obsession πŸ˜‰
      Thanks for your lovely comment Juliet!

      Love,
      Mariel – SillyStyle

  2. healthehelen June 3, 2013 at 7:00 pm #

    I love dumplings but boyfriend thinks they are slimy and refuses to eat them. When we’re in Asia I have to sneak off for afternoon snack dumpling sessions between meals!

    • sillystyle June 14, 2013 at 4:33 am #

      I really like the idea of a “snack dumpling session” πŸ™‚
      Maybe your boyfriend will like the fried ones. I prefer steamed dumplings because I tend to avoid fried foods as much as possible, but I’ve tried them a couple of times and they are also really yummy πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

